Clocked

Hawaii teen driving log

Hawaii Driving Log for Supervised Practice Hours

Hawaii does not set a separate fixed total of parent-supervised practice hours. Instead, state law requires an instruction permit held at least 180 days and a state-certified driver-education program and behind-the-wheel training course.

The classroom and behind-the-wheel completion certificates come from that certified course — they are different from a personal record of your own practice drives. Licensing is administered by the county examiner offices, but the core requirements come from state law (HRS chapter 286).

No separate hours total does not mean practice is unnecessary — supervised driving is still how new drivers get ready. Clocked helps Hawaii families keep a personal record of completed drives. Always confirm current requirements with your county examiner office.

180 days

Instruction permit held

Driver ed + BTW

Certified course required

21+

Supervising adult

Quick answer

Here is the short version for Hawaii families:

RequirementHawaii rule
Fixed supervised-hours minimumNo separate total specified in state law
Instruction permit heldAt least 180 days
Required courseState-certified driver education + behind-the-wheel training
DocumentationClassroom & behind-the-wheel certificates (not a personal hours log)
Supervising adultLicensed driver 21+ (parent/guardian 11 p.m.–5 a.m.)
Administered byCounty examiner offices, under state law (HRS ch. 286)

Source note: Under HRS §286-102.6 and §286-108, a provisional-license applicant under 18 must hold an instruction permit at least 180 days and complete a certified driver-education program and behind-the-wheel training course; no separate supervised-hours total is specified. Hawaii Revised Statutes §286-102.6

What Hawaii requires

Under HRS §286-102.6, a person 16–17 may receive a provisional license after holding an instruction permit for at least 180 days and satisfactorily completing the requirements of §286-108 and §286-109. Section 286-108 requires proof of a completed driver-education program and a behind-the-wheel driver-training course certified by the director of transportation.

Hawaii law does not specify a separate fixed number of parent-supervised practice hours. That is different from many mainland states — but it does not make practice optional. Confirm the current steps with your county examiner office.

Clocked helps with the practice record either way:

  • Log each completed practice drive
  • Keep day and night hours organized
  • Keep progress on one screen through the 180-day permit period
  • Export a clean PDF summary of completed drives for your own records

Source: Hawaii Revised Statutes §286-108

Certificates vs. a personal practice record

The classroom and behind-the-wheel certificates are issued by the state-certified course. They are the documentation Hawaii's process is built around — not a drive-by-drive log of your own family practice.

Clocked is a separate personal tracker. It does not replace the driver-education or behind-the-wheel certificates and does not submit anything to the state. It simply helps families keep their own record of completed drives during the permit period.

Keep your own practice record during the 180-day permit. Track each Hawaii drive in Clocked as soon as it happens.

Download Clocked on the App Store

How Clocked helps Hawaii families

Clocked is built for the specific job of tracking supervised practice.

Track every drive

Log date, duration, and drive details for completed drives in seconds.

Separate day and night progress

Keep day and night hours organized through the permit period.

Keep a clean record

Keep supervised practice organized in one place while it happens.

Export a clean PDF

Export a tidy summary of completed drives for your own family records.

Clocked is a personal driving-log tool, not an official government form. It does not replace Hawaii's certified driver-education or behind-the-wheel certificates or any county process, and it is not endorsed by or affiliated with the Hawaii Department of Transportation or the county examiner offices.

Download Clocked on the App Store

Clocked is a private tracking helper

Most Hawaii families just want a simple, reliable record of each completed practice drive:

  • Date of the drive
  • Start and end time
  • Total minutes and hours logged
  • Whether the practice was during the day or at night

Clocked keeps that private record for your own family reference. It is not affiliated with the Hawaii DOT or county examiner offices, is not an official state form, does not submit anything to the state, and does not guarantee licensing eligibility or compliance. Check current requirements with your county examiner office before applying for a provisional license.

Hawaii driving log FAQ

How many supervised driving hours does Hawaii require?

Hawaii law does not specify a separate fixed total of parent-supervised practice hours. Instead, an applicant under 18 must hold an instruction permit for at least 180 days and complete a state-certified driver-education program and behind-the-wheel training course. Source

How long is the Hawaii instruction permit held?

The instruction permit must be held for at least 180 days before a provisional license. Source

Are the driver-education certificates the same as a driving log?

No. The classroom and behind-the-wheel completion certificates come from the certified course. They are distinct from a personal record of your own practice drives, which Clocked can help you keep. Source

What are the provisional-license restrictions?

A provisional licensee generally may not drive between 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. without a licensed parent or guardian, and may not transport more than one passenger under 18 without a licensed parent or guardian (with limited exceptions). Source

Can Clocked replace a Hawaii state requirement?

No. Clocked is a personal driving-log tool. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Hawaii Department of Transportation or the county examiner offices, is not an official form, does not submit anything to the state, does not replace the driver-education or behind-the-wheel certificates, and does not guarantee licensing eligibility or compliance.

Official Hawaii sources

Track your Hawaii practice hours with Clocked

Hawaii requires a 180-day permit and a certified driver-education and behind-the-wheel course. Clocked helps you keep your own record of practice drives from the first day of the permit.

Download Clocked on the App Store

Always verify current licensing requirements with the Hawaii licensing agency.